The BMRA staff are led by, and accountable to, the BMRA Board which comprises representatives from different sized companies. The BMRA is also a company limited by guarantee. Its Board members therefore have the dual functions of: corporate governance and representing industry views in formulating BMRA policy.

Board members are elected by the members and serve a three-year term. The current members are:

Susie Burrage, Recycled Products Ltd

Large companies (tonnage over 1million tonnes or turnover over £100m):

  • Mark Vaughan, ELG Haniel Metals Ltd
  • Andrew Brady, European Metal Recycling Ltd
  • Paul Wright, Sims Metal Management Ltd
  • Donald Ward, Ward Recycling 

Medium sized companies (tonnage 40,000-1m tonnes; turnover £10-100m):

  • James Nicholls, C F Booth
  • Nigel O'Gorman, F J Church
  • Dave Weston, John Lawrie Group
  • Steve Broomhead, Recycling Lives Ltd
  • Sandra Robertson, Roberston Metals Recycling Ltd
  • Adrian Dodds, Sackers 

Small companies (tonnage under 40,000 tonnes and turnover under £10m):

  • Graham Davy, Intelligent Lifecycle Solutions
  • Shane Mellor, Mellor Metals Ltd
  • Anthony Brewster, Metal Interests Ltd/Infinity Metals
  • Alan Waugh, William Waugh (Edinburgh) Ltd
  • Sue Howell, Wye Valley Metals

The Board's activities are supported by four committees where appropriate. The following are currently operating:

  • Membership and Communications Committee
  • Legislative Policy Group
  • Health & Safety Committee